Fight Sport Asia interviews Japanese standout Yuta Sasaki

Yuta Sasaki is one of Asia’s most promising young prospects in the sport today. At just 23-years of age ‘Ulka’ has went onto amass an impressive 13-1-2 record since making his professional debut back in 2010.

With his technical grappling, and ever improving hands you can see why Yuta Sasaki is a must watch for the near future.

A former Shooto Pacific Rim Featherweight Champion, Yuta is currently on a six-fight tear with victories over notable names Kenji Yamamoto, Kota Onojima and Tetsu Suzuki.

Fight Sport Asia caught up with the young prodigy to discuss his latest win and much, much more.

FSA:
First off Congratulations on your most recent win. It only took you eleven seconds to knockout Kenji Yamamoto at Shooto: 3rd Round 2013. Are you happy it ended so quickly, or would you have liked for it to of gone on a bit longer?

Yuta:
I think I was able to perform well in that fight. The opponent was a good fighter so even if the fight went the distance it would have been a good fight as well, but, I am glad I finished him early.

FSA:
This was your first win via Knockout. How did it feel?

Yuta:
During the training, I actually do picture myself knocking out an opponent so this time it went just right.

FSA:
Did you bring anyone specifically in for your training camp to emulate Yamamoto’s aggressive style?

Yuta:
Nothing or no one in particular. But I did study a lot on Yamamoto’s striking game though. Especially when he tries to come inside.


FSA:

Shortly after the fight you relinquished the Shooto Pacific Rim Featherweight Championship. What was the reasoning behind that. New challenge?

Yuta:
If I am fighting in Shooto next then it should be for a world title. In order for me to challenge for the world title I have to relinquish my Pacific Rim title and that is what I did.


FSA:

What did you do to celebrate your win?

Yuta:
I celebrated this win with my supporters.


FSA:

You began your Mixed Martial Arts career back in 2010. What attracted you to the sport?

Yuta:
First I was watching Takanori Gomi’s fights in PRIDE and I wanted to be like him and that’s why I started training MMA.


FSA:

Do you have any background in Martial Arts?

Yuta:
Three years of wrestling in high school.
In addition, I have been training with my brother since when I was a child.

FSA:
You’re currently 13-1-2 and one of the best prospects coming out of Asia. Have any of the organizations stateside been in contact?

Yuta:
Unfortunately nothing from American promotions so far…..


FSA:

How many fights do you have left on your Shooto contract?

Yuta:
I don’t have any contract with Shooto.


FSA:

Have you got any idols in the sport – past or present?

Yuta:
Takanori Gomi.

FSA:
What’s the story behind the mask?

Yuta:
My nickname “Ulka” means “Tengu (long-nosed goblin)” in Sanskrit.

FSA:
We’ve heard speculations linking you in a possible match-up with Kyoji Horiguchi at VTJ 3rd. Any truth?

Yuta:
I can’t say anything at this point but I do like to fight him.

FSA:
When do you plan on getting back in the ring?

Yuta:
If the timing is right then I would like to fight for VTJ.


FSA:

Do you have any goals in your career?

Yuta:
To become UFC champion, of course.


FSA:

What do you do in your spare time?

Yuta:
On my day off, I like to draw, or like to travel. Stay away from sports.


FSA:

Lastly is there anyone you would like to thank?

Yuta:
I would like to thank all my team mate at Suruga Dojo, my master Kenichi Serizawa, and also would like to thank my long-time sponsors Bull Terrier and a new sponsor Manto.

  
*Fight Sport Asia would like to thank Yuta Sasaki for given us time out of his busy schedule.
___________________________________________________________________________________________
Photo credit: Bout Review & Manto

Follow us on Twitter (@FightSportAsia) and Facebook for all the latest combat news coming out of Asia
Categories: Featured

Subscribe

Connect with us on any of our social profiles below.

3 Comments on “Fight Sport Asia interviews Japanese standout Yuta Sasaki”

  1. October 4, 2014 at 1:15 pm #

    Aw, this was a really nice post. Finding the time and actual effort to generate a really good
    article… but what can I say… I hesitate a lot and never seem to get nearly
    anything done.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. FightSport Asia takes an inside look at SuckerPunch Entertainment | FSA - FightSport Asia - November 19, 2013

    […] Shooto stand out (Yuta Sasaki) […]

  2. Yuta Sasaki vs. Keisuke Fujiwara set for Shooto: 1st Round 2014 | FSA - FightSport Asia - December 16, 2013

    […] Check out our Interview with Yuta Sasaki. […]

