Due to illegal strikes, Catalan vs. Dima overturned to No-Contest

The match-up between Rene Catalan (0-1, 1 NC) and Khim Dima (0-0, 1 NC), which kicked-off proceedings on the main card for Friday night’s ONE FC 11: Total Domination event, has been officially ruled a No-Contest.

ONE FC officials made the announcement through the promotion’s official Facebook platform.

The original outcome was a TKO victory in favor of Dima. The stoppage came in the second frame when Catalan shot for a takedown which was well anticipated by Dima, but with Catalan still holding onto his leg, the Cambodian rained down a barrage of unanswered punches that eventually forced the referee to make an intervention.

Replays, however, suggested that Dima landed several illegal blows to the back of Catalan’s neck prior to the stoppage, hence prompting officials to overturn the original TKO decision to a No-Contest.

Here’s the official statement:

After reviewing the bout between Khim Dima and Rene Catalan, ONE FC officials have decided that Khim Dima landed several significant illegal strikes to the back of the neck of his opponent Rene Catalan.

The win for Dima has now been reversed and this fight will be officially ruled a No Contest.

You can check out the video of the entire fight below, and decide for yourself if the No-Contest result was justified or not:

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Follow Thinesh on Twitter (@ThineshJohnMMA), and keep up with the latest MMA news from FightSportAsia.com via Twitter (@FightSportAsia) and Facebook

Advertisements

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Asian MMA, Featured, MMA, ONE FC, Singapore

Author:Thinesh John

20, Asian MMA nerd in Singapore.

Subscribe

Connect with us on any of our social profiles below.

%d bloggers like this: