James McSweeney: “I wasn’t getting paid by the hour, so I had to be fast.”

The experienced 33-year-old took a moment to share a little joke at the expense of Stefan Traunmuller (8-3-1) at the post-fight conference that took place following the conclusion of the FFC 9 event in Slovenia.

McSweeney (12-11), a former “TUF” and UFC vet, needed just 35s to slap on an Armbar and garner the twelfth victory of his career. He also snapped the five-fight winning streak of his opponent.

FFC 9 was held this past Friday in front of a capacity crowd at Ljubljana, Slovenia. It was the Final Fight Championship’s first event on foreign soil, following eight spectacular shows in native Croatia.

McSweeney-Traunmuller served as the headliner for the FFC 9 fight card that included both MMA and Kickboxing bouts.

“I wasn’t getting paid by the hour, so I had to be fast,” McSweeney chuckled. “Once again I thank everyone here for the great treatment, but I am sorry that the fight did not last long.”

“Stefan is a good opponent and a very powerful guy. We knew he would crumble on the ground, so we were prepared for it. I am more than happy that I showed we had the right tactics and preparation.” added the Englishman.

For full FFC 9 results, click here.

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Follow Thinesh on Twitter (@ThineshJohnMMA), and keep up with the latest MMA news from FightSportAsia.com via Twitter (@FightSportAsia) and Facebook

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Featured, MMA, Phuket Top Team

Author:Thinesh John

20, Asian MMA nerd in Singapore.

Subscribe

Connect with us on any of our social profiles below.

One Comment on “James McSweeney: “I wasn’t getting paid by the hour, so I had to be fast.””

  1. November 18, 2013 at 6:44 am #

    Nice If you want to find out more about this event you can visit page best martial arts blog

