Rebel FC 1′s Rob Lisita: “I’ll show no mercy in there. Expect to see a lot of violence.”

Fighters beware, we’ve got a slugger on the lose. And he’s not going to go easy on anyone.

For years, Phuket Top Team’s “Ruthless” Rob Lisita (12-5) has treated fans and neutrals alike to exciting scraps because of his belligerent diction. The former Legend FC vet’s style has garnered fans all over the Asian region, and to date, he remains as one of Australia’s top 145-lbs fighters.

And he isn’t doing it to please fans. Nor to please the promoters either. He does it because, in his words, “that’s his style.” He ensures his opponents are in for a scrap. That’s how it was when he fought in Australia, and that’s how it’s going to be when he fights in Singapore on Saturday.

“I started off fighting in higher weight classes and those guys were much taller than me. I had to close the distance and get inside to land punches on their chin,” he explained to FightSportAsia.com, at a press conference held by Rebel FC in Singapore last month.

“I didn’t really have the reach fighting backwards so I always had to push forward. I’m super competitive in anything I do and I think that translates into my fights. I want to take the win. I don’t want it to be given to me by the judges. That is my style.”

That’s probably why Rebel FC CEO Justin Leong chose Lisita to feature in the main event of his promotion’s inaugural installment. The 30-year-old’s never back down approach and aggressive style is one that promises sure-fire entertainment, and Leong believes it’s an approach that perfectly matches up with that of Lisita’s opponent, “Lion” Takeshi Inoue (21-8).

“Rob Lisita is like a Mike Tyson protégé, a guns-blazing and dash forward sort of fighter who leaves everything in the cage,” says Leong. “He reminds me of small stocky guys like Joe Frazier and Mike Tyson, who have to capitalize on overhand lefts and rights to make up for their reach disadvantages.”

Phuket Top Team's Rob Lisita poses for the camera at a press conference held in Singapore.

Phuket Top Team’s Rob Lisita poses for the camera at a press conference held in Singapore.

Lisita makes the most of what he has. The Australian Featherweight has fought seventeen times, with a 75% finish rate in his twelve victories. That is, needless to say, a remarkable feat.

But when he fights on December 21st at Rebel FC 1: Into the Lion’s Den against Takeshi Inoue, he’s going to have a different challenge on his shoulders this time around.

You see, Takeshi isn’t really ‘your everyday fighter’. His unorthodox style and striking prowess made him a two-time Shooto champ,  and a Japanese icon at that. And, he’s never been finished in pro MMA competition. But, despite his opponent’s credentials, Lisita, though, maintains that everybody has a weakness, and he hopes to prove it when he finally gets his hands on Takeshi.

“He dances literally, throws feints and stuff like that, and it honestly looks like he’s really dancing almost. But it’s good man, I don’t have a problem with it. I wouldn’t really fight like that myself but I respect how he does it. As long as he lets his hands and kicks go, it’s all good,” Lisita said. “You can never know what’s going to happen in a fight. Out of all the high level guys I’ve fought so far, Takeshi’s the one I like the most. But I’m more than ready and it’s my time now.

He’s never been knocked out or submitted, so he’s going to be hard to finish. But I am looking to be the first guy to finish him and I will definitely try and stop him.

Takeshi’s a two time Shooto champion, he’s fought on a big stage against international guys but honestly, I bet he hasn’t fought someone like me.”

To date, Lisita has fought the likes of Yusuke Kawanago, The Ultimate Fighter alumni Ben Wall, UFC vet Bernado Magalhaes and the highly touted, Rodolfo Marquez. The 30-year-old could very well be knocking on the door of more top tier opponents should he add Takeshi to his list of victims. That of course will be easier said than done, but it’s not an impossible task either.

“I’m not necessarily a guy that turns down fights. I like to fight, and I like to be active. The chance to fight in Singapore, in the main event, for a good promotion like Rebel FC that looks after its fighters, was a good opportunity,” admitted the Australian. “And to fight a guy like Takeshi and a chance to take his name… it’s a massive occasion man. Plus Rebel Fighting Championship is a good promotion to fight for and here I am.

Singaporean fans can expect me to live to my nickname. They call me ‘Ruthless’ for a reason, and I’ll show no mercy in there. I’m coming to win. Expect to see a lot of violence.”

***

Rebel FC 1: Into the Lion’s Den goes down on December 21 at the Singapore Indoor Stadium. Featuring seven yet-to-be-announced Amateur line-ups on the undercard and five professional main card contests on an expected twelve bout fight card, Rebel Fighting Championship’s inaugural spectacle is set to bring about something new and different to the Asian MMA landscape.

With Takesi-Lisita set as the main event, a Lightweight battle, meanwhile, ensues between Singapore’s own Syafiq Samad (2-0) and Korean Top Team’s Gyo Pyung Hwang (3-3) in the co-main event slot.

“TUF: Brazil” competitor Marcos Vinicius (20-5-1) returns to action for the first time following his three-fight stint in the UFC’s octagon as he collides with fellow promotional newcomer, and Legend FC vet, Taiyo Nakahara (13-7). Elsewhere, Doo Hwan Kim (4-1) takes on Philippines’ Chris Hofmann (0-0) in a 205-lbs encounter.

Keep it locked to FightSportAsia.com for more news and updates on Rebel Fighting Championship.

Do check out this exclusive documentary on Takeshi vs. Lisita below, and get acquainted with the fighters!

*Photos Credit: Sigmund Seah

__________________________________________________________________________________________

Thinesh John is a Singapore-based MMA journalist. You can check out some of his work over on MMASucka.com. Follow him (@ThineshJohnMMA), and be sure keep up with the latest MMA news from FightSportAsia.com on Twitter (@FightSportAsia) and Facebook

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Asian MMA, Australia, Featured, Interview, MMA, Phuket Top Team, Rebel FC, Singapore

Author:Thinesh John

20, Asian MMA nerd in Singapore.

Subscribe

Connect with us on any of our social profiles below.

18 Comments on “Rebel FC 1′s Rob Lisita: “I’ll show no mercy in there. Expect to see a lot of violence.””

  1. December 20, 2013 at 11:56 am #

    Greate pieces. Keep posting such kind of information on your
    blog. Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hi there, You’ve performed a fantastic job.

    I’ll definitely digg it and for my part suggest to my friends.

    I am sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

  2. February 19, 2014 at 12:41 am #

    Great goods from you, man. I’ve consider your stuff previous to and you’re just too magnificent.
    I actually like what you have obtained right here, really like what you’re stating and the best way by which you are saying it.
    You make it enjoyable and you continue to take care of to
    keep it wise. I can’t wait to learn much more from you.

    That is really a great site.

  3. February 19, 2014 at 2:14 pm #

    Sahastrabuddhe opined that an entrepreneur can be successful only when
    he matures to a certain level after having faced problems.

    If you are looking for , click the following links for a huge variety.
    With any new start off up business you threat the possibility
    that the business does not make it.

  4. February 20, 2014 at 2:38 am #

    It’s remarkable designed for me to have
    a web page, which is good in favor of my experience.
    thanks admin

  5. February 26, 2014 at 8:02 am #

    I really like what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work
    and reporting! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve added you guys to my own
    blogroll.

  6. February 27, 2014 at 2:07 am #

    You can get a Garcia 6500cs Pro Rocket reel for $179.
    Biologists estimated as few as 600-800 grizzlies
    existed in the lower 48 states and declining. They would leave again after lunch and hunt until just before dark.

  7. May 1, 2014 at 11:32 pm #

    If you want to get internet psychic advice, it’s best to better get going.

    One of the more common among them is suspected cheating.
    Legitimate part time online job for you teachers are more demanding,
    data-entry work would be the perfect opportunity.

  8. May 10, 2014 at 12:55 am #

    Wow, this article is fastidious, my younger sister is analyzing these things,
    therefore I am going to tell her.

  9. July 27, 2014 at 4:15 pm #

    Greetings! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team
    of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us beneficial information to work
    on. You have done a extraordinary job!

  10. August 27, 2014 at 7:08 am #

    Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this sijte regularly,
    this site is genuinely pleasant and thhe users are actually sharing nice thoughts.

  11. August 27, 2014 at 9:07 am #

    An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this
    onto a co-worker wwho had bwen doing a little research
    on this. And he actually bought me lunch due to
    the fact that I found it for him… lol. So let me reword this….
    Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending the
    time to talk about this matter here on your site.

  12. August 28, 2014 at 4:47 am #

    Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It actually used to be a
    amusement account it. Glance complicated to far intriduced agreeable from you!

    By the way, how can we keep in touch?

  13. August 30, 2014 at 1:07 am #

    Excellent post. I certainly appreciate this site.
    Continue the good work!

  14. October 1, 2014 at 9:19 am #

    Admiring the hard work you put into your website and detailed
    information yoou offer. It’s good to coime across a blog every once
    in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed information. Great read!
    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your
    RSS feeds to my Google account.

  15. October 1, 2014 at 9:37 am #

    Great blog you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find high quality writing like yours these days.
    I ttruly appreciate people ike you! Take care!!

  16. October 2, 2014 at 1:50 am #

    I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.

    The sketch is tasteful, youyr authored subjewct matter stylish.nonetheless, you command
    get bought an nervousness over that you wish be delivering the
    following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly
    again since exactly the sane nearly very often inside case youu shield tis
    hike.

  17. October 5, 2014 at 4:31 am #

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally,
    it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You definitely know what youre talking about, why waste your
    intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something informative to read?

  18. December 31, 2014 at 3:57 am #

    They may be getting superior, but as a extended time drag racer I nonetheless don’t quite get why
    they do it. Possessing to make 1000bhp just to do 9 second quarters
    seems daft to me. Nonetheless, some fantastic engineering going on. Matt

