Newly signed Rob Lisita: “ONE FC showed me they are the best.”

Rob Lisita thinks he made the right decision in joining up with the ONE FC ranks.

Lisita, one of six fighters signed by the Singapore-based promotion on Wednesday, said he was honored to ply his trade in the Asian outfit.

The decision, though, may surprise some. The Australian admitted to receiving offers from the UFC and Bellator MMA among others, but he had his mind set on fighting for only one promotion because they were the ones who impressed him the most.

“UFC said they may have a spot for me on the TUF: China finale. Bellator offered me a contract, and Rebel FC and AFC know what I do and wanted me with them,” Lisita said. “But ONE FC showed me they are the best. Soon they’re going to be saying to the guys in UFC – keep going mate (and) you’ll make it to ONE FC one day…”

Lisita, who in December continued his impressive win streak with a victory over Japanese icon “Lion” Takeshi, is one of Australia’s marquee fighters. He’s fought all over Asia, racking up victories over names such as Rodolfo Marques. But the Australian believes he’s not done. Not by a long shot.

In fact, with years of experience in the Asian MMA circles, Lisita cited there’s a lot less challenges for him now too, considering the adversities he overcame prior to becoming a fully-fledged MMA fighter.

“It’s an honor to fight in the biggest organization in Asia. I’m excited to show the ONE FC fans some crazy fights, my warrior spirit and some brutal finishes,” he added. “I have a home, I have regular fights and great competition. All I have to do is stay ready and put a beating on who Matt Hume matches me up with.”

Now 30-years-old, Lisita links up with a Featherweight division that houses some of the biggest names in Asian MMA, including Honorio Banario, Koji Oishi, Bae Yong Kwon, Eric Kelly and Bruno Pucci.

Lisita, after his most recent stoppage victory over former two-time Shooto champ, Takeshi Inoue.

Lisita reacts after his most recent stoppage victory over former two-time Shooto champ, Takeshi Inoue.

Naturally, Lisita will be unfazed by most of the names mentioned above, given the quality of fighters he has faced before. But he will have to get past the sturdy lot if he wants to work his way to the top of the 145-lbs chain and achieve his ultimate goal – to be the world’s best Featherweight combatant.

“Every win takes your career to another level, that’s all that matters to me; putting my fist on my opponent’s chin and getting my hand raised. If I do that the rest will take care of itself,” the 30-year-old said. “I want that belt and Koji Oishi has it, we match up well. Shinya is someone I admire and would love to take his scalp. There’re some great Filipino fighters, Koreans, I’d like to fight too, and even Martin (Nguyen) to cement my name as the best in Australia. I just want to stay active and fight as much as possible. No one has pissed me off yet so I won’t discriminate. I’ll be happy to bash any featherweight on the roster.”

Although a date for his ONE FC debut is yet to be announced, fans will be in for a treat when the Phuket Top Team stand-out makes his first promotional appearance. The Australian’s never back down approach and aggressive style is one that promises sure-fire entertainment to the masses.

Suffice to say, that’s what’s garnered the 30-year-old fans from around the globe. He’s always raring to go.

“Guys know I got a good chin and power in my hands and I’m always looking for the finish. My opponents know it’s an up hill battle when they get in there with me,” he concluded. “With 8 submission wins on my record, you can’t underestimate my ground game as well. I train to win in every aspect of the game.”

*Photos Credit: Sigmund Seah

__________________________________________________________________________________________

Thinesh John is a Singapore-based MMA writer. You can check out some of his work over on MMASucka.com. Follow him (@ThineshJohnMMA), and be sure keep up with the latest MMA news from FightSportAsia.com on Twitter (@FightSportAsia) and Facebook

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Asian MMA, Australia, Featured, Interview, MMA, ONE FC, Phuket Top Team

Author:Thinesh John

20, Asian MMA nerd in Singapore.

Subscribe

Connect with us on any of our social profiles below.

