Road to the Pro’s: Helen Harper #1 – My Introduction

A couple of weeks ago, I was asked to write a supplement for Fight Sport Asia along side my weekly blog.

Of course, I was more than happy to do that, but a little concerned no one would have heard of me apart from my gym family at Phuket Top Team.

The most appropriate way to describe myself would be an aspiring fighter who has come from a life of excessive alcohol consumption, low motivation and lack of direction to a T-total, motivated, dedicated and slightly obsessed fighter who was named “Hellraiser” for reasons I still don’t really know. But the name stuck.

I spend most of my time in Phuket, Thailand with Phuket Top Team, but whilst I am in England I have found a second home with Andy Roberts BJJ. Both gyms have welcomed me with open arms as part of their team so I couldn’t be happier to represent them both.

The year 2013 brought me many ups and downs but more happiness than I could ever have imagined. I was lucky enough to compete in five fights (MMA and Muay Thai) as well as the Pan Asian Jiu-Jitsu tournament in Manila, Philippines.

I just won the No-Gi BJJ category at a Grapplers Showdown event in England, and with three prospective fights already on the agenda, the year 2014 looks like it will be even better.

*Helen Harper is a Mixed Martial Artist from Farnham, England. Her columns hereon in for Fight Sport Asia, called ‘Road to the Pro’s’, will focus on her life as a fledgling MMA fighter.

_______________________________________________________________________________

Follow Helen on Twitter (@hhhellraiser) and Facebook

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Featured, Helen Harper, Phuket Top Team, Road to the Pro's

Author:helensadventuresinthailand

Subscribe

Connect with us on any of our social profiles below.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The journey of an aspiring fighter #50 | helensadventuresinthailand - February 17, 2014

    […] to my blog on http://www.fightsportasia.com which is extremely exciting! You can read said blog post here, and I will try and keep them pretty different to what I post on here although I am sure there will […]

  2. Helen 'Hellraiser' Harper | The journey of an aspiring fighter #50 - July 11, 2014

    […] to my blog on http://www.fightsportasia.com which is extremely exciting! You can read said blog post here, and I will try and keep them pretty different to what I post on here although I am sure there will […]

