Remy Bonjasky says rematch with ‘Cro Cop’ will be his retirement fight

Remy Bonjasky’s long awaited rematch with Mirko ‘Cro Cop’ on Saturday night will be his last fight. Ever.

The former K-1 champ announced at today’s GLORY 14 pre-fight press conference that he’s set to hang up his gloves for good. Kickboxing fans will see him in action for the very last time this weekend.

“I’ve been thinking a lot about when my last fight is going to be. Now I’ve built up a good career behind the scenes and I believe that this is the right moment,” he told the media in attendance in downtown Zagreb, Croatia.

“I had my first ever K-1 fight against Mirko and now he will be my last in GLORY, so I think that is the perfect way to end my career.”

Bonjasky fought ‘Cro Cop’ in a highly anticipated encounter back in 2002, where kickboxing was still morally evolving as a combat sport. Bonjasky dropped a controversial TKO setback that night, but felt the stoppage came too early.

Now, in his retirement fight, he will have the chance to settle the score once and for all. And he assures fans he won’t be holding back on fight night.

“I am willing to give everything for myself and my team. For my audience fans and family. I want to show them something in my last fight,” Bonjasky said.

“I am not worried about picking up any injures- after all, I don’t have any fight coming up after this one!”

The two fighters actually served as sparring partners for one another in the past, and developed what has been dubbed a ‘loose friendship’. But according to Bonjasky, despite both fighters knowing each other’s strengths and weaknesses inside out, neither will have an advantage because of that.

“It is true we did fight before and we were sparring partners also. I have my style and he has his. We know each other and there are no secrets,” he said.

“This doesn’t matter. The crucial thing is going to be a failure in concentration or a little movement going wrong, this is what leads to the knockout. It’s in the details. Everyone knows his left high kick and my jumping knee. So it’s all in details, like he says there will be a moment when he is not concentrated and that will be when the fight is won.”

As for his post-fight career plans? Well, Bonjasky has that covered and thought-up as well.

“I will take a rest and a long vacation, then concentrate on building up my academy, that is one of my biggest plans,” Bonjasky concluded.

“I want to open up some more academies across Holland. And I’m doing some TV work in Holland, so I am very busy.”

***

Remy Bonjasky will contest his last fight on March 8th when he clashes with Mirko ‘Cro Cop’ in the headliner of GLORY 14, at the Zagreb Arena in Zagreb, Croatia.

The Middleweight tournament, consisting of competitors Dustin Jacoby, Alex Pereira, Sahak Parparyan and Jason Wilnis, will take the spotlight as well, where the winner will be moved on to a championship tournament targeted later on in the year.

*Click here to check out the full fight card for GLORY 14

_______________________________________________________________________________

Be sure to keep up with the latest Kickboxing news from FightSportAsia.com on Twitter (@FightSportAsia) and Facebook

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Featured, GLORY, Kickboxing

Author:Thinesh John

20, Asian MMA nerd in Singapore.

Subscribe

Connect with us on any of our social profiles below.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. GLORY 14 Weigh-In Results/Pictures: Headliners ‘Cro Cop’, Bonjasky on point | FSA - FightSport Asia - March 7, 2014

    […] Bonjasky were on point, weighing in at 109.95kg/242.4-lbs and 108.8kg/239.86-lbs respectively. As previously reported, this will be Bonjasky’s retirement […]

