Five Questions with Amu Rijirigala ahead of RUFF 12

Amu Rijirigala is undoubtedly one of China’s hottest commodities in the regional Mixed Martial Arts scene today.

The 25-year-old Chinese fighter makes his seventh appearance under the RUFF banner this Saturday night at RUFF 12, when he welcomes former Legend FC veteran Danaa Batgerel to the promotion.

In what would otherwise be a fairly lopsided start, Shang Zhifa and Zhang Meixuan are the only two fighters who have stopped Rijirigala in the RUFF cage thus far. Even so, the submission ace avenged those losses in 2013, once again signalling his intentions to be a dominant force in the promotion’s 125-lbs division.

Next up, however, a stern test awaits the China Top Team native.

His opponent, Batgerel, may not be as experienced as him, but the caliber of opposition he has faced to date in his stint with the now defunct Legend FC organization, has been nothing short of impressive.

Batgerel may be still maturing as a fighter at just a tender age of 24, however, it would be criminal to disregard the Mongolian’s abilities in the cage at this stage of his career.

Rijirigala partook in five questions with Fight Sport Asia with regards to this weekend’s proceedings. Find out what he had to say (with the help of a translator) below leading up to fight night:

…on his confidence for a positive start in 2014 following a perfect 3-0 run in 2013:

“I have full confidence as long as I can go about my fights steadily with no rashness and perform to my fullest abilities as with the year before.”

…on how he describes his fight style and if opponents will underestimate his striking skills considering his large number of submission victories:

“I practice boxing, wrestling and all aspects of MMA in my regular training. Personally, I don’t consider myself to have any specific strengths in standing or grappling. What I want is to only become a champion and win my fights. “

…on his thoughts in facing Danaa Batgerel and if experience will be an advantage:

“Though I have fought very good opponents in RUFF, I still feel some pressure from weight cut sometimes. So in addition to this fight, I have been concentrating on active preparation. No matter how powerful my opponent is, I will showcase my best status and skills in the RUFF cage and hopefully, this fight will set a good tone for the rest of the year.”

…on avenging his losses to Shang Zhifa and Zhang Meixuan and what that says about his attitude:

“My carelessness led to those defeats against Shang Zhifa and Zhang Meixuan, as anything may happen during a fight. But a quick response counts a lot. In my point of view, both those defeats marked an inevitable journey of improvement in my career.”

…on what we can expect to see from him at RUFF 12:

“For this fight, my camp took place Yun Nan Province where there is good weather which helped in avoiding the polluting haze in Beijing. It provided me a quiet environment for training and doing a thorough preparation for this fight as it is far from the noisy city centre. Let’s wait and see. I will definitely showcase an action-packed fight for everyone.”

***

Amu Rijirigala (10-3) locks horns with Danaa Batgerel (4-1) in the main card of RUFF 12 on Saturday, March 29th, at the Hongkou Indoor Stadium in Shanghai, China.

The headlining bout for the event sees the return of former UFC vet Azamat Gashimov (7-3), as he takes on China’s own Lu ZhengHong (7-2).

Click here to check out the full fight card for RUFF 12.

_______________________________________________________________________________

Thinesh John is a Singapore-based MMA writer. You can check out some of his work over on MMASucka.com. Follow him (@ThineshJohnMMA), and be sure keep up with the latest Asian MMA news from FightSportAsia.com on Twitter (@FightSportAsia) and Facebook

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Asian MMA, China, Featured, Interview, MMA, RUFF

Author:Thinesh John

20, Asian MMA nerd in Singapore.

Subscribe

Connect with us on any of our social profiles below.

